

Court Rules and Procedures Committee

Meeting Minutes January 27, 2025

Members Present: Chair Michael Chait, Charles Adams, Stephanie Dikeakos, William Elsinger, John Hoglund, Devon McCurdy, Marin Mooney, Craig Moore, Kelly Oshiro, Rachel Reynolds, Tenaya Scheinman, Justin Steiner, Matthew Stoloff, Geoff Wickes, Amanda Williamson

Members Excused: Jonathan Bussey, Brian Flaherty, Jessica Fleming, Tamara Gaffney, Loni Hinton, Eric Lindberg, Matthew O'Laughlin, Christine Olson, Scott Prichard, Laurel Smith, Andrew Yi

Also Attending: Judge Eric Biggar (Judicial Liaison), Judge Paul Crisalli (Judicial Liaison), David Ward (AOC Liaison), L. Parvin Price (BOG Liaison), Nicole Gustine (WSBA Assistant General Counsel), Emily Crane (WSBA Paralegal)

The meeting was called to order at 09:34 once a quorum was established.

- Approval of Minutes: a motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes from the November 25, 2024 meeting. The motion passed by unanimous consent.
- Subcommittee Reports
 - Rules of Appellate Procedure: an initial meeting was held in January with subcommittee members to be assigned into groups of two or three for rule review. The subcommittee also plans to study various proposed changes to several RAPs.
 - Rules for Appeal from Decisions of Courts of Limited Jurisdiction: an initial meeting was held in January with subcommittee members to be assigned rules to review. The subcommittee also plans to reach out to the judicial liaisons of the full Committee.
 - Subcommittee X: an initial meeting was held in January with the subcommittee developing a plan to continue the work from the prior fiscal year. The current focus of this subcommittee will be the continuation of the SCCAR rule review while the status of CR 35 is pending for follow-up. Chair Chait will follow-up with the WDTL regarding CR 35 feedback and Judge Crisalli will assist in ascertaining status of SCJA regarding CR 35 feedback.
- Other Business for the Good of the Order

The meeting adjourned at 09:44.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 24, 2024.