Updated: Oct. 31, 2022

Taxation Section

The Taxation Section provides current information on federal and state tax issues that directly affect practitioners in Washington. It gives new attorneys with an interest in tax law an opportunity to meet and discuss mutual areas of concern with established practitioners. The Section assists in proposing and commenting on legislation and administrative rules affecting federal and state tax practice.

Through its website, list serve, and events throughout the year, the Taxation Section provides practical, up-to-date information regarding the Section's committees, activities, and other tax resources.

In accordance with the Section's bylaws, and with the exception of law students, an individual must be an active member of the Bar to join the Taxation Section.

Annual Report  |   Budget  |  Bylaws  |  Year in Review  |  Meeting Minutes

Join Now


Volunteer Opportunities 

If you have any questions or would otherwise like to get involved with the Pro Bono Committee, please contact Jennifer Gellner at 425-235-5535 or jennifer@gellnerlawgroup.com.

Taxation Section CLE Slide Decks

Click here to find the most recent CLE Slide Decks from the Taxation Section.



Winter 2017-2018  │  Spring 2017  │  Winter 2016-2017

Archived issues are available to section members upon request. To request an issue, please email sections@wsba.org.

Executive Committee

ChairKristi Richards (2022-2023) 

Chair-ElectMegan Tahl (2022-2023) 

Secretary: Cat Connell (2022-2023) 

Treasurer: Jason Harn (2022-2023) 

Immediate Past Chair: Claire Taylor (2022-2023) 

At-Large Members

Darek Jarski (2022-2023) 
Robert Mahon (2022-2023) 
Sandra Veliz (2022-2023)

Board of Governors Liaison*: Nam Nguyen (2022-2023) and Brent Williams-Ruth (2022-2023)

Young Lawyer Liaison*: Aimee Miller (2022–2023) 

*Nonvoting member

Committee Chairs

CLE Co-ChairsJason Harn  & Sophia Meglioli  (2022-2023) 

DOR Liaison ChairDan Jensen (2022-2023) 

Estate and Gift Tax Co-ChairsCat Connell & Reed Jones (2022-2023) 

International Tax Co-ChairsTuan Ngo &  Al Mullins (2022-2023) 

IRS Liaison Co-Chairs: Logan Westerman (IRS Office of Chief Counsel) &  Rich Johnson (Private Practice) (2022-2023) 

Legislative Co-ChairsBrett Durbin & Callie Castillo (2022-2023) 

Communications  Chair: John Jetter (2022–2023) 

Pro Bono ChairJennifer Gellner (2022–2023) 

Scholarship Chair: Jennifer Gellner (2022–2023) 

State and Local Tax Chair: Aaron Johnson (2022–2023) 

Transactional Tax ChairDaniel SIto (2022–2023) 

Young Lawyer Committee Chair: Daniel French (2022-2023) 

DEI Committee Co-Chairs: Sienna Boyd & Ellen Tung (2022-2023) 


Learn more about the Committees.

The WSBA Taxation Section Executive Committee generally conducts meetings on the third Friday of each month, 8–9 a.m. Please contact committee member for specific details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

Join Our List Serve

To join the section list serve and for general section questions, please send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org. For more information and to get involved with the section, please contact section Chair Kristi Richards.