Updated: Sept. 25, 2023

Creditor Debtor Rights Section

The Creditor Debtor Rights Section encourages the research, study, and initiation of proposals for changes and reforms in all areas of law that may impact the creditor/debtor relationship. The Section aids and educates members and the public by reviewing pending legislation and development of proposed statutory enactments to improve and to facilitate the administration of justice. Section members represent a diverse array of individuals and businesses who are debtors, debtors-in-possession, secured and unsecured creditors, creditors' committees, receivers, trustees, asset purchasers, and examiners in all facets of creditor-debtor law.

The Section provides benefits to members by developing resources, including a newsletter and bankruptcy case law digest, and sponsoring several CLEs each year. Since 2004, the Section has maintained an annual grants program to financially assist community service programs statewide that provide legal services in the area of creditor/debtor law.

Annual Report  |   Budget  |    Bylaws  |  Year in Review  |  Elections  |   Resources  |   Newsletters

Join Now

Page Navigation

The Creditor Debtor Rights Section offers many resources and benefits for members. On this page you will find information about the section, current newsletter, grants, as well as information about the section's executive committee.

Section Information

Grant Program


Executive Committee


Section Information

Congratulations, Incoming Executive Committee Members!

Below are the results of the Creditor Debtor Rights Section Executive Committee election. Thank you for voting!

For more information about the Section and its executive committee roles, please review the Section's bylaws.

At-Large Member Position 5 – King County: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2023, and ending Sept. 30, 2025.

Christina Henry

At-Large Member Position 7 – Southern Division of Western District: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2023, and ending Sept. 30, 2025.

Thomas Dashiell

At-Large Member Position 8 – Eastern District: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2023, and ending Sept. 30, 2025.

Rebecca Sheppard

At-Large Member Position 9 – Western District: two-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2023, and ending Sept. 30, 2025.

David Neu

Questions? Contact sections@wsba.org.

Back to top

The Fall 2022 Newsletter Is Out Now!

Read it now.

Back to top

New! Creditor Debtor Rights Grant Program Now Accepting Applications

The Creditor Debtor Rights Section recognizes the importance for all individuals to have access to legal services. Many Section members are actively involved in making their expertise available to low-income individuals, both through direct representation and/or educational programs. While financial constraints and/ or other limitations may deter individuals from seeking legal services, it is important that community services exist to assist with such issues. Established in 2004, the purpose of the Creditor Debtor Rights Section’s Grant Program is to provide financial assistance to the ongoing operation of community service and legal aid programs.

Deserving organizations are encouraged to complete the current grant application form and submit it to the Grant Program Chair by Nov. 14, 2022. A copy of the application can be found below:

Creditor Debtor Rights Grant Application 2022-2023

Congratulations to the following 2022-2023 grant recipients:

  • Chelan-Douglas County Volunteer Attorney Services
  • Cowlitz Wahkiakum Legal Aid

Back to top

Executive Committee

ChairBruce Medeiros (2022-2024)

Chair-Elect: Todd Tracy (2022-2024)

Secretary/TreasurerJennifer Faubion (2022-2024)

Immediate Past ChairWilliam Malaier (2022-2024)

Young Lawyer Liaison*Nicole Springstroh (2022-2024)

Board of Governors Liaison*: Matthew Dresden (2022-2023) and  Erik Kaeding (2022-2023)

Pos. 1 Eastern District 
Jody McCormick (2022-2024)

Pos. 2 Eastern District
Darren Digiacinto (2022-2024)

Pos. 3 Northern Division of Western District
Sallye Quinn (2022-2024)

Pos. 4 King County
Michael Sperry (2022-2024)

Pos. 5 King County
Christina Henry (2021-2023)

Pos. 6 Southern Division of Western District
Russell Garrett (2022-2024)

Pos. 7 Southern Division of Western District
Thomas Dashiell  (2021-2023) 

Pos. 8 Eastern Division At-Large
David Kazemba (2021-2023)

Pos. 9 Western District At-Large
Jacob DeGraaff (2021-2023) 

Newsletter Editorial Board Members*
Steve Linkon (2021-2023)

*Nonvoting member

Please contact subcommittee member for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

Join Our List Serve

To join the Section list serve and for general questions, please contact sections@wsba.org. For questions about the Section and to get involved, please contact Section Chair  Bruce Medeiros.


Feel free to contact any member of the current Section Executive Committee or email sections@wsba.org.

Back to top