Updated: Sept. 25, 2023

Intellectual Property Section

The Intellectual Property Section strives to promote the practice of intellectual property law and focuses on patents, trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets, and related matters. The Section promotes the development of industry and the useful arts by encouraging the establishment, maintenance, respect for, and utilization of intellectual property rights that fairly balance the limited monopoly enjoyed by the owner of intellectual property rights with the benefit to society derived from the creation of useful subject matter protectable by those rights.

The Section provides benefits to members by providing continuing legal education events, including the Intellectual Property Institute, and publishing a newsletter. The Section conducts outreach activities with members and law students providing financial support to law students attending law schools in Washington State. The Section reviews, comments on, and makes recommendations related to pending legislation, and proposes statutory enactments to improve and to facilitate the administration of justice.

Annual Report  |   Budget  |   Bylaws  |  Year in Review  |  Elections

Connect with us on LinkedIn


Page Navigation

The Intellectual Property Section offers many resources and benefits for members. On this page you will find information about the section, their upcoming events and offerings, as well as information about the section's executive committee.

Upcoming Programs

Executive Committee


Congratulations, Incoming Executive Committee Members!

Below are the results of the Intellectual Property Section Executive Committee election. Thank you for voting!

For more information about the Section and its Executive Committee roles, please review the Section's bylaws.

Secretary/Treasurer: one-year position beginning Oct. 1, 2023, and ending Sept. 30, 2024.

Syed Abedi

At-Large Member: remainder of current term ending Sept. 30, 2024.

Carrie Lofts

At-Large Member: two-year term beginning Oct. 1, 2023, and ending Sept. 30, 2025.

Ian Crosby

Questions? Contact sections@wsba.org.



Upcoming Programs

Check back for information on upcoming events and programs the Intellectual Property Section is offering.

Back to top

Executive Committee

ChairDario Machleidt (2022-2023)

Chair-Elect: Rodney Tullett (2022-2023)

Secretary/TreasurerConnie Wan (2022-2023) 

Immediate Past Chair: Brooke Quist (2022-2023) 

Young Lawyer Liaison*: Vacant

Board of Governors Liaison*: Matthew Dresden (2022-2023) and  Kevin Fay (2022-2023)

Syed Abedi (2021-2023) 
Sunah Lee (2021-2023) 
Ethan Vodde (2021-2023)
Carrie Lofts (2022-2024)
Thomas Wong (2022-2024)

*nonvoting member

Please contact subcommittee member for details on their upcoming meeting dates and locations.

To join the Section list serve and get general section questions, please send your email address and Bar number to sections@wsba.org. For more information and to get involved with the Section, please contact the Section chair, Dario Machleidt.

Back to top